I’m not completely finished with Step 3 of Easy Street but I’m well on my way.  I decided to try Kati’s (Kati’s Quilting) method which you can find here.  I found that it was faster and more accurate for me than using the rulers.  I did a couple of things different than Kati.  One, which I thought made it easier, was that I strip pieced 2-inch purple strips and 3-inch black and white strips and then cut them to 2-inch units.  It won’t be as scrappy this way but I think it will work out just fine.

Step 3

Cutting Strips into 2-inch Units

So pretty going through the machine!!

There they go!!My next move didn’t go so well!  I cut my aqua fabric and marked one to test it.  This is how it turned out!!

OOPS!!!OOPS!!!!  I had my units opposite of Kati so I had to change the way I marked my aqua!  Glad I made a test unit and didn’t go crazy!!  Easy fix 🙂  and this is what I had…..

Step 3 4

Not perfect but much better!!!

These guys are ready to go!!

Step 3 5

I have enough parts ready to complete 36 units.  Now that I know what I’m doing, I should be able to get the rest of them cut tonight.  It shouldn’t take any time getting them sewn together!!  Uh, that is IF I don’t have any more OOPS moments!!   Thanks to Bonnie Hunter at Quiltville for all of her work on this mystery.  If you would like to check out what others are up to on Step 3, here is the place!!

Happy Quilting!!

